I’ve heard from many that my environmental policy is a disaster and that, somehow, I am apathetic to the current deteriorating condition of our environment. This, most often, comes from individuals who refuse to acknowledge the rest of my arguments regarding environmental and energy policy.

For starters, I support the National Park Service, and would like to see it continued to be maintained under all administrations in the future. For some reason, some other portions of my environmental policy have been construed to represent that I dislike the Nationals Parks scattered throughout the nation. I admire the vast expanses of land they protect, the natural wonders within, and the valuable ecological service that each park provides to the nation and, ultimately the world. There is one thing that I am most apprehensive about when talking about national parks, which is the amount of land currently owned by the federal government and protected as wildlife refuges. The federal government has no constitutional right to own approximately 15% of all land in the United States. In fact, the only land the federal government is intended to own is the ten square miles surrounding the city of Washington, D.C. What i would like to see happen with much excess federal land is see that non-ecological service providing lands be sold to private bidders, and many parks which may not be of as high importance to endangered species be returned the the jurisdiction of the several states.

The next policy issue that is often mistaken for unacceptable is my stance toward environmental regulations. While yes I do encourage the deregulation of coal power plants, I also encourage activist groups to use all means necessary to wage public relations campaigns against coal companies, including using print and digital media to reach large sections of the US population. I also am in support of expanding the allowance and protection of media coverage of ecological disasters caused by pollution in the environment, such as that in drinking water supplies. There should also be a federal fund established, or an existing one expanded, within the Department of the Interior in order to provide for cleanup efforts following ecological disasters caused by coal and other mining industries.

The final issue to be addressed, which very few individuals allow me to get to, is my overwhelming preference for clean and renewable energies being expanded so as to allow them to compete with established energy markets. This can be done through subsidizing small renewable energy companies and research projects, as well as dedicating a small portion of federal lands that are retained from sale or de-federalization to the creation of new energy sources, such as solar and wind power.

